I don’t know where you stand on the organic versus non organic debate, I kind of tend to go with what I can afford and that often rules Organic out by default as I try to economise on my shopping and make the pennies stretch as far as possible. However…

… as I’m doing this eat healthy diuretic thing I thought I would invest some money into a few organic alternatives. For two reasons really, the first so I could see if they tasted better and the other to see if I felt the extra expense was worth it.

17148950_10155203934003447_1387118817_oOne of the things I bought was Tesco Organic Porridge Oats which are currently £1.49 for 750gms.  That’s not a bad price to begin with really when you compare that to the cost of a box of processed cereal like cornflakes or something like a box of granola. Compared to my regular Tesco Every Day Value Oats though which come in at 75p for 1kg it is quite a lot more expensive item for item.  The cheaper oats work out to cost 8p per 100gms whereas the organic oats cost 20p per 100gms. So that is a sizeable difference. In terms of dietary facts the organic oats contain slightly fewer calories, slightly more fat but less of that is saturated fat and less sugars but we are talking nought point something of a gram here so no massive numbers).

However there are things to consider which are perhaps more important when making your decision. Firstly the organic oats are absolutely delicious in comparison. They are so oily and juicy and plump up so much with the milk, they are bigger and tastier and stand head and shoulders above the cheaper version. Because of this there is a second benefit to buying them, they don’t need anything adding. I usually have to add sugar or jam or some fruit at the very least to my porridge to make it taste in such a way that I actually enjoy eating it. For me enjoying my food is a big part of eating that I don’t want to compromise on. So by buying the organic oats I’m not only still enjoying the porridge, it’s far more healthy as I’m not having to add sugars in any form to it. Of course this means I’m saving money too, I don’t need to buy sugar or jam to add to it and over the course of a week I’ve probably saved myself what the oats cost extra already just because I don’t need jam or sugar (I don’t have jam or sugar on anything else so there’s no need to buy it at all saving me a couple of quid at least each shop.)

I also use less milk with them as I like the taste of the oats and they’re so juicy that I don’t want to drown them, so that’s a small saving in money and in calories and fats.

Besides this, my portion size is now being kept under control and I have a strict 50gms of 17121566_10155203933728447_972371887_ooats, before I used to have probably triple this and would have a much larger bowl and sometimes go back for seconds. This means that my consumption of oats has decreased dramatically, where over five days I might consume 750gms of oats which would cost me 50p I now consume 250 gms of oats which cost me just under 50p. So the actual daily spend on oats is the same but I’m getting a much healthier, tastier breakfast which is still just as satisfying. OK so I could decrease the size of my portion of cheaper oats and make more of a saving but I don’t think I would find the taste as satisfying and feel that I’d had the nice breakfast I do with the organic option. For me taste is a trade off for quantity that my gluttonous nature accepts.

So if we look at all of these benefits together we could consider that I’m saving money by buying the organic oats and not only that I’m reducing my calorie and fat intake and keeping my greedy massive portion desires in check.

Sometimes when we consider what to buy we automatically look at the comparison between two products and only think of the monetary gains and losses but perhaps when we are considering going organic we should be adding in all of the other potential gains and losses too so that we arrive at the best decision for us.

This formula won’t work for everything we eat, for instance, I  bought organic carrots, celery and cucumber which were slightly more expensive than my regular ones and I’m not going to eat less or make any savings elsewhere with those BUT they do taste great and when I’m eating food cooked more blandly or with less sauces etc then the taste really does matter much more and so for me it’s worth it. Besides, think of all that money that would have formerly been spent on non healthy foods and treats and takeaways and meals out and you’ve got the cost of the organic foods well and truly covered.

I haven’t rushed out and bought everything organic by any means, I’ve just popped in a few things here and there to try and see if they convert me and if I can justify the extra spend and so far I find that I definitely can.

Thanks for dropping by

A x

