Day one is always a toughie to describe as it can be exciting and new and also a little bit of cold turkey thrown in. It can be hard to break bad habits make no mistake about that. I guess for me that’s what this challenge is all about using the diuretic and healthy food focus to break the back of changing bad habits.

I managed to weather the storm pretty well, I think I’m just in the mind set that is required to make a go of a lifestyle change and that helps, well it doesn’t just help that makes a new approach last and have some success.

17121449_10155197443843447_378471879_oFor my breakfast I had this delicious oaty Cheerio cereal from Nestle. I added in a spoon of flax seeds and topped off with a cup full of semi skimmed ice cold milk. I had a cup of Green Tea with Cranberry by Twinnings and a big glass of water which was just filtered tap water using my filter jug.

Mid way through the day I had a banana and five big juicy grapes with some yoghurt. I also had a toasted pitta bread with a quarter tin of tuna mixed with celery and cucumber slices. I forgot to take a photo of that but my photography is so bad it’s probably best you just imagine what that looked like. With lunch I had another cup of tea, this time white organic tea by Clipper and I had a pint of filtered water.

For dinner I had a delicious salmon steak which I just cooked in foil in the oven with half a fresh organic lemon and a good tablespoon full of chopped parsley. I took a tablespoon of 17091282_10155197445113447_142342697_oextra virgin olive oil and added to it five chopped garlic cloves, a small french onion, a handful of chopped parsley, a teaspoon of turmeric, a half teaspoon of paprika and a pinch of organic Himalayan pink salt. I mixed this together with the juice of half a lemon and I then added sliced aubergine/eggplant (from 2/3 of a large aubergine/egg plant), sliced carrots x 2 medium sized, a whole sliced green pepper and 3 large asparagus tips. I coated the vegetables in the oil and then set on a tray to bake in the oven. I used a tray with holes in the bottom so that excess oil could easily drain out but the garlic and  spices and onion could remain with the vegetables.

I cooked for 20mins in a hot oven and added in the salmon in the foil for the last 10 minutes.

I served the salmon with the vegetables and the whole things was delicious.

I washed it down with a pint of cold water and followed it up with a lovely cup of green tea with ginger.

Before bed I had another pint of water.

I’d incorporated 11 of my diuretic foods into the day and I’ll list them below

Asparagus  Oats  Aubergine  Carrot  Garlic  Ginger   Caffeinated drinks  Water

Parsley  Cucumber  Celery

Besides this I’d had two helpings of oily fish (the tuna and the salmon) and kept carb intake to a minimum. It was a meat free day and I managed to incorporate some dairy (milk with cereal).

By the end of the day I had taken in the recommended water for the day and had not had any alcohol and had not included any refined sugars at all. I’d also kept salt to a minimum but not excluded it altogether.

I think we can call day 1 a success!

Thanks for dropping in.

A x

 

 

